We lead youth documentary film workshops. We create films that build an inclusive community story. We inspire. 

Who We Are


Miranda Petruska

Board Member

Miranda Petruska is Dichinanek' Hwt'ana from Nikolai, creates beautiful jewelry, and has spent over a decade managing the 

Community Health Aide program at Southcentral Foundation. 

Synclaire Butler

Board Member

Synclaire is a Black Feminist Artivist who was born in raised in Anchorage, who attended East High School where many See Stories programs are held, and currently works as an artist & entrepeneur.


Kim Liland

Board Secretary

Kim is an English Language Learner (ELL) Social Studies Teacher at East High School. She loves that she gets to work with students from so many parts of the world who enrich her teaching and learning.


Marie Acemah

Board President,

See Stories Director

Marie's passion in life is to support people to share transformative personal and community stories through film, and to use these films as a platform for community conversation and celebration.


Jim Labelle Sr.

Board Member

Jim is Iñupiaq from Kotzebue, and is a professor at UAA. He is an outspoken boardingschool survivor, and has served Alaska through his vast leadership experience, teaching, and service on boards ranging from Alaska Federation of Natives to Bridge Builders.


Emily Brockman

Board Member

Emily is Yup’ik from Dillingham, and recently received her Bachelors Degree and Teaching Certificate from Duke University. She works as Youth Curriculum Coordinator for the Alaska Humanities Forum.


Derek Pitka

Board Treasurer

Derek is Iñupiaq and Athabascan, and works as a New York Life Insurance Agent. He loves to support people with their finances, and to give back to the community.